Error when filtrering

Nov 14, 2012 at 11:22 AM

Hi

In a production environment i installede 32bit version on my machine and as a developer I am a local administrator and also cube administrator and I could use add-in and filtrering with no problems.

However, when making servicedesk install add-in on normal user machine the user gets error when trying to filter.

I made sure it was also a 32bit excel version but I couldnt impound machine for too long course of busyness and wanted to hear if something about security could be the issue and if you heard about it before ?

Could i try other actions in add-in to narrow down problem ? I might have to do on other normal user machine since this user is very busy.

Coordinator
Nov 14, 2012 at 3:04 PM

Are you talking about the Filter List feature, or a different feature?

If you're an SSAS admin, then you might try editing the connection string inside your Excel and adding ;EffectiveUserName=DOMAIN\Username to the end of the connection string. Then you as an administrator will impersonate the permissions of the other user. Then try Filter List and see if you can reproduce the problem. If you have dimension security, that could explain the different behavior.

Nov 14, 2012 at 3:12 PM

Yes, the filter list feature.

I'll try this out but pretty sure they don't use dimensional security.

A guy here said it could be "an access to temporary files" problem - on local machine I'm administrator but add-in was installed on machine with someone who is allowed to install - would usage then be a problem ?

Coordinator
Nov 14, 2012 at 10:21 PM

I'm not aware of any issues like you describe. But please do capture the exact error messages and see if you can document steps to reproduce.

Nov 21, 2012 at 1:58 PM

Error when clicking search tab. Not typing anything just picking search tab.

http://img69.imageshack.us/img69/4554/errorppn.png

Error when trying to clear pivottable cache

http://img254.imageshack.us/img254/2719/erro2q.png